News:

This website's purpose is to share information with clipper owners and others who are interested in clippers or have old Dodge B300 chassis motorhomes.  In an attempt to share as much information as possible to as many people as possible PLEASE first post your questions in one of the forum boards rather than sending a PM to the webmaster or another member. This will allow other members to find information that may help solve their problem.  By PMing your questions, you decrease forum activity and create more work for active members who end up repeating information to individuals looking for the same information.  Thank you.

Main Menu

Towing - Rear Frame Reinforcement

Started by USNRetired, September 03, 2010, 01:55:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

USNRetired

I am pretty new to the RV World and am a new member having purchased my 1977 American Clipper only about a month ago.  From talking with friends in the past, I did know enough to crawl under the rear of the motorhome and verify that the towing setup was attached to the frame instead of just the bumper and it is.  However, I am trying to find out just what I can tow with this beast.  It has the Dodge 440 engine and looks like it was set up to tow just about anything, but I know there is a weight limit.  I have both a 1995 Jeep Cherokee Sport and a 2010 Toyota Camry.   I would rather have a towing rig installed on the front end of the Jeep than go through the cutting and modifications required to set up my wife's Camry for towing.  The curb weight of the Jeep is 2955 lbs, Camry 3483 lbs.  My email is: marjimjo@cox.net  I need input and advice from other American Clipper Owners more experienced in towing with their RV's.  Please help!  My point is that my background is in electronics, telecommunications and electricity.  The entire setup looks good to me, but is it? 

Jim & Marina Johnson
Jim & Marina in Beautiful Oceanside, California
ACOC #3714
1977 Rear Kitchen Party Model (821FC)

Horst