News:

The club is no longer active.  The forum will continue to be available for folks to find information and ask for help.
The tech forums are now open to all.  Other vintage Dodge-based class C owners welcome.

Main Menu

new clipper owner here

Started by nuckles, January 25, 2010, 01:04:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nuckles

Hi everyone, I got a 21 ft. bunk bed model 78 american clipper! its got the big 440 in it. Most of everything works well, except the water pump leaks and the fridge did not work on electricity, but i havent tried the propane yet. I have been doing some updating on the inside like painting and i had some wood flooring laying around that i am putting down now. Its starting to look pretty nice! I am new to this rv world so I am sure that I will have many questions that I hope you all will help me out with. My first quick questions are my rv has air bags on it. Did the rv come standard with these and does anyone know how much I am suposed to pump them up too? What kind of gas milage am I gonna get? The guy I got it from told me he got 10 ml to the gallon, but that seemed high to me. I have a onan 4.0 genni did they come with these or was it added? And what kind of towing capacity do I have?   

thanks for the help, hope to here what you guys think.          nuckles

John Eversoll

Hello Nuckles,

Personally I would say you are a very lucky guy in getting the 440!!!!

I have a 77 with the rear kitchen.  anf the 440.  water pump is very
easy to replace..
We are a nice group of guys that TRY very hard to help with what ever problems you might have....  I myself only get at the best  10 mpg.   THE WORST- 5mpg.But ya know something
It is worth every cent...   We have been to Iowa with our rig and Arizona and up to Oregon
Vegas, Sovang, and Washington..  Ya meet real great folks.
As  far  as the fridge goes check to see if the thing is even plugged in....The outside