News:

The club is no longer active.  The forum will continue to be available for folks to find information and ask for help.
The tech forums are now open to all.  Other vintage Dodge-based class C owners welcome.

Main Menu

Is Anybody Else into Photography?

Started by Toedtoes, April 05, 2014, 08:38:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Toedtoes

I am an avid amateur photographer.  It's the main reason why I wanted an RV - so that I could go out and shoot in the early morning light, kick back in comfort during the heat of the day, and then head back out for the evening light.  I haven't done too much since I got my clipper - my focus has been getting it into shape and just taking test trips in it this past year.  But, I'm gearing up for some good photo ops in the near future.

Is anyone else in photography?
'75 American Clipper Dodge 360 821F; ACOC #3754

Rd Ready

Thats one of the thing's I wanted to Do to, I just Bought a Nikon D-3300.. I love it... Can't wait to learn How to use it.. Slowly I go.. I need to get More len's though..

Toedtoes

Ah, my favorite subject (other than clippers).  ;D

Hold off on the other lenses for now.  Get familiar with what your camera body can do first.  Once you get familiar with it, you can figure out what you really need and spend the money once.  So many people buy multiple lenses first and then find out they either don't use the lens ever or that it's just not a good enough lens for their needs.  They then have to buy something else, spending a lot more money.

Figure out if you need a fast lens (f2.8 or wider aperture) or if you need an ultra wide angle, etc. before jumping in to the expense of buying.  The more you figure out before you buy, the less you'll spend on lenses you don't use.

In my 9 years since I bought my first dSLR (a Canon Rebel XT with the 18-55mm kit lens and a cheap 75-300mm telephoto lens), I have added the following to my gear (in order of purchase):

Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 - great portrait lens