News:

The club is no longer active.  The forum will continue to be available for folks to find information and ask for help.
The tech forums are now open to all.  Other vintage Dodge-based class C owners welcome.

Main Menu

Inverter

Started by John Eversoll, December 07, 2009, 09:54:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Eversoll

Hey Jerry, I just got thru talking to a friend about power inverters.

I am a novice basicly... But my buddy was telling me that I have to run extra batts along with the power

inverter.  And can not run it directly to the electric fridge.. Now I love this guy like my own brother.

He saved my life over seas years ago... But is this true.....If it is not I will find some way of informing him.

Main reason is I don't want to spend $1,500 on a lp fridge when I bought this nice size fridge

at Lowes Home improvement  for $204. twice the size plus has a bigger freezer.  It would only e running while I drive.  keeping the stuf in the fridge cold!
What do you think?????????????       

John :) :)

mccammonds

First make sure the required wattage needed by the refrig is not more than your inverter is capable of putting out.

On my rig and it should be on yours. I have an electrical cord that I can plug into 1. my generator,or 2. shore power,or 3. out put from my inverter.  Using this method I know I will never have a feedback problem.  Some folks have a master switch to take care of this.

Batteries:  Make sure your Amp out put of your house batteries is enough to feed your inverter.   Going down the road should charge your battery/batteries.

BUT!, you will use your battery/batteries up real fast if you don't have: 1. a whole bunch of stored amps., or 2. you have a constant way to keep the house battery charged. 
SOLD MY 1975     821F      360cc  ACOC #3645
FULL TIME IN A 21FT WAS NOT CONDUCIVE TO A HAPPY MARRIAGE.  NOW HAVE A 34 FT BOUNDER
U.S. ARMY RETIRED

clockwork

Quote from: mccammonds on December 08, 2009, 07:10:42 AM